Area of shared jurisdiction

The admission into Canada of foreign workers settling in Quebec is an area of jurisdiction shared by the federal and provincial governments. The sharing of responsibilities between the two levels of government is enshrined in the Canada-Quebec Accord Relating to Immigration and Temporary Admission of Aliens, dated April 1, 1991. In Quebec, the Ministère de l'immigration, de la Diversité et de l'Inclusion de Québec (Ministry of Immigration, Diversity and Inclusion of Quebec) oversees the selection of immigrants and supports their integration. The federal government is responsible for admitting candidates into Canada.